Como lo quieres? Con spuma? O Sin spuma?

Como lo quieres? Con spuma? O Sin spuma?

After meeting Guillermo (pronounced Guee-she-ear-mo due to the strange profanity for Uruguyians/Argentines to turn every innocent ‘y’ and ‘ll’ into a ‘sha’.) from Uruguay, and after finally interpreting his offer to buy me a beer, this question was my next roadblock of the night.

It seemed a question of enormous import, and G. was insistent that I wrapped my cabeza around it. Fortunately he translated spuma for me – foam. Do you want your beer with  or without foam?

At first I took it as a trivial formality. People don’t actually prefer beer with a huge head of foam do they?

But some do. I guess it’s a cultural thing. Pero mio? Lo prefiero todavia el mismo. Sin espuma. Bien, bien fria.

Y tu?

One Response to Como lo quieres? Con spuma? O Sin spuma?

  1. Carla says:

    Loving the news especially in your vivid narrative. Your photos remind me very much of the scenery around Cuiaba, the town I lived in as a child on the Matto Grosso, Brazil…especially the one eyed dog..

    We can’t wait to read the next installment..
    Remember you are also ambassadores for your country and famiglia..

Leave a Reply

