I Want to Know What Love is

I travelled all the way to the other end of this distended land mass and what serendipity. I finally found a people that understand me. A people that understands my taste in “classic” music. I can´t even count the number of times that I have heard my personal soundtrack in South America. The music videos on the bus, radio waves radiating out of street level windows, a playful note from a passing iPod.

For those who know me, both my guitar repetoire and my de facto music library consists of about five perpetually legendary songs:

Foreigner – I Want to Know what Love is

Scorpions – Wind of Changes

Toto – Africa

Bon Jovi – Always

 

In tribute to the tasteful tribe of latin america I have gone to the trouble of tabbing the first of these classics, arranged for one-man band acoustic guitar. Don´t bother correcting me. Its perfect.

 

Foreigner – I Want to Know What Love Is

 

I´ve got to take a little time,

A little time to think things over.

I beter read between the lines,

In case I need it when I´m older

 

Who-oo-oh-oo-oh

 

And this mountain I must climb

Feels like the World upon my shoulders

Through the clouds I see love shine

It keeps me warm as love grows colder.

 

Bridge:

In my life,

I´ve seen heart ache and pain

I don´t know

If I can see you again.

 

Can´t stop now,

I´ve waited to long,

To change this lonely life….

 

Chorus:

I WANT TO KNOW WHAT LOVE IS,

I WANT YOU TO SHOW ME.

I WANT TO KNOW WHAT LOVE IS,

I NEED YOU TO SHOW ME.

 

I need to take a little time,

A little time to look around me.

There is no where left to hide,

It seems that love has finally found me.

 

Bridge,

Chorus ad infinitum.

 

CHORDS: Capo 2nd fret if you´ve got the huevons of Mick Jones. Or for us mere mortals you can play it open.

 

Intro- Verse: C#m – (B) – E – A – C#m

Bridge: starts on C#m but then quick to this and repeat: A – F#m – B – F#m x2

Then the climactic approach to the Chorus: A – E – F#m – A

Chorus: E – B – F#m – B

 

Make sure to have a choir of gorgeous women come in on backup for the chorus so you can freestyle the vocals…

One Response to I Want to Know What Love is

  1. Sylvia says:

    Ah yes, colonizing the latinos with 80s rock ‘classics’. Have you come across the bastardization of these with the replacement of english for the local spanish yet? Cause you will my friend, you will.

Leave a Reply

