Goodbye to Law Reviews

As I don the invisible robes of the Editor-in-Chief of the McGill Journal of Law and Health next year, as I take the helm of this busy and serious collective of students dedicated to separating the wheat from the chaff in health law writing (and publishing the chaff in a glossy red cover), as I accept my peripatetic promotion in this profession of purveying pretentious poppycock, I pause to admire Fred Rodell’s righteous rail on legal literature with its hopeful title: ‘Goodbye to Law Reviews’. I hope that I can somehow discourage my editors from the un-necessary brow-furrowing and complete humourlessness that he rails about so beautifully.

For those of you unfamiliar with the piece, it begins: ‘There are two things wrong with almost all legal writing. One is its style. The other is its content.’

I don’t think I’ve ever laughed (so hard) while simultaneously highlighting before in my life:

Goodbye to Law Reviews

Leave a Reply

